Also available in: தமிழ் , ಕನ್ನಡ

IAS Exam

Indian Administrative Service Exam

What is IAS Exam?

Indian Administrative Service (IAS) is the Civil Services Examination and one of the toughest competitive exams in India. It is conducted by the Union Public Service Commission for the recruitment of officers for the All India Administrative civil service.

About IAS:

The Indian Administrative Service is the premier administrative civil service of the Government of India. HIerarchy-wise, IAS is the highest administrative post among the 24 services like IPS, IFS etc.

IAS is the permanent bureaucracy in India and forms a part of the executive branch. It is one of the three All India Services, its cadre can be employed by both the Union Government, the State Governments and public-sector undertakings.

Being an IAS Officer

An IAS officer is given administrative command of an entire district as a District Collector.  IAS officers also represent Government of India at international level in bilateral and multilateral negotiations.

Eligibility Criteria

  1. Nationality:

    • Candidate must be a citizen of India.
    • Candidate must be a citizen of Nepal or a subject of Bhutan
    • Candidate must be a Tibetan Refugee who came to India before 1st January 1962 to be settled permanently in India
    • Candidate must be person of Indian Origin who has migrated from Ethiopia, Kenya, Malawi, Myanmar, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Tanzania, Uganda, Vietnam, Zaire, or Zambia with an intention of permanently settling in India
  2. Educational Qualification:

    Candidate applying for civil service exams is required to fulfill the following criteria:

    • Candidate must hold a Bachelor's Degree from any of the recognised universities
    • Candidates who have appeared for the qualifying examination and are awaiting results or those who are yet to appear for the qualifying examination are also eligible for the Preliminary Examination. Such candidates have to produce proof of passing the said examination along with the application for the Main Examination.
    • Candidates with professional and technical qualifications recognised by the Government or its equivalent are also elgible to apply
    • Candidates who have passed the final year of MBBS or any Medical Examination but are yet to complete the internship can also appear for the Main Examination. However, they must submit a certificate from the concerned University that they have passed the final professional medical examination.
  3. Age Limit :

    A candidate should be minimum 21 years and maximum 32 years old as on  August 01, 2017.

    The upper age limit prescribed above is relaxable for the following candidates:

    • 5 years - Scheduled Caste/ Scheduled Tribe (SC/ST)
    • 3 years - Other Backward Classes (OBC)
    • 5 years - if a candidate had ordinarily been domiciled in the State of Jammu & Kashmir during the period from the 1st January, 1980 to the 31st December, 1989.
    • 3 years - Defence Services personnel
    • 5 years - ex-servicemen including Commissioned Officers and ECOs/SSCOs who have rendered at least 5 years Military Service as on 1st August, 2017
    • 5 years in the case of ECOs/SSCOs
    • 10 years - Blind, deaf-mute and orthopedically handicapped persons
  4. Number of attempts:

    Restriction on the maximum number of attempts is effective since 1984:

    • For General Candidates: 6 attempts.
    • Scheduled Caste and Scheduled Tribe Candidates (SC/ST): No Limits.
    • Other Backward Classes (OBC): 9 attempts.

Roles and Responsibilities

The role of IAS officers is very venerable, demands a great deal of responsibility and reverence. It is also important that an officer is physically and mentally fit and healthy to handle the work pressure without giving in. The following are the roles and responsibilities that an IAS officer is deputed:

  • Handling affairs of government that involve framing and implementation of policy in consultation with the concerned Minister
  • Implementing policies through supervision and also traveling to the places where the approved policies will be implemented
  • Implementing policies comprises disbursement of funds through personal supervision
  • Answerable to the Parliament and State Legislatures for any violation of rules while on duty
  • Functions and responsibilities differ at different levels of career
  • Initially, IAS officers join the state administration at the sub-divisional level, resuming their services as sub-divisional magistrates, and look after law and order, general administration and development work in the area assigned to them
  • The post of the District Officer also known as District Magistrate, District Collector or Deputy Commissioner is the highly respected and responsible post the IAS officers enjoy
  • At the district level, an IAS officer deals with district affairs, including implementation of developmental programs
  • The officers may also be appointed in the State Secretariat or they may serve as Heads of Departments or in Public Sector Undertakings
  • They may serve in different positions from the State to the Centre and vice versa. This happens through deputation.
  • At the Centre, IAS officers serve at the highest position as the Cabinet Secretaries, Secretaries/Additional Secretaries, Joint Secretaries, Directors, Deputy Secretaries and Under Secretaries. They are appointed to these posts based on seniority.
  • At the Centre, the IAS officers play a key role in formulation and implementation of policies related to a particular area; for instance, finance, commerce, etc.
  • During formulation of a policy and decision making, IAS officers serving at different levels i.e. joint secretary, deputy secretary give their valuable inputs
  • The policy takes its final shape through a final decision the minister concerned or the cabinet, depending on the seriousness of the situation
No Change In UPSC Civil Services Exam General Studies Weightage

The pattern for UPSC CSE 2017 prelims exam for Indian Administrative Services (IAS) remains the same as of now. The preliminary exam will have two objective type papers like last year- Civil Services Aptitude Test (CSAT) and General Studies. To read more about this, click here

16 March 2017
UPSC Prepones Civil Services Prelims Exams

The civil services preliminary examination has been preponed and it is scheduled to be held in June this year instead of August. The civil services preliminary examination, 2017, will be held by the Commission on 18 June 2017, as per an official order. Click here for more information.

3 March 2017
UPSC Issues Notification For Indian Civil Services Exam 2017

The Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) on February 22, 2017 issued a notification announcing date and procedure for applying for Indian Civil Services Preliminary Examination, 2017 on its official website.

Important dates to remember:

  • Last date to apply: The Online Applications can be filled up to March 17, 2017 till 18:00 Hrs.
  • UPSC Prelims Exams will be held: June 18, 2017.

For further information about the notification, click here

27 February 2017

For great career opportunity, get instant updates on Education, Career & Job