Also available in: தமிழ் , ಕನ್ನಡ


Indian Audit and Accounts Service Exam

What is IAAS Exam?

Indian Audit and Accounts Service (IAAS) is a Group A civil services of the Government of India. The IAAS is a central government service, under the Comptroller and Auditor General of India and is free of control from any executive authority.

The main responsibility of the IAAS is to audit the accounts of the Union and State governments and public sector organisation and to maintain the accounts for State governments.

Eligibility Criteria

  1. Nationality:

    Nationality of a candidate must be either of the following:

    • Citizen of India
    • Subject of Nepal
    • Subject of Bhutan
    • A Tibetan refugee who came to India before January 1, 1962 for permanent settlement in India.
    • Migrant from any of the following countries for permanently settling in India:

    Pakistan, Burma, Sri Lanka, East African countries of Kenya, Uganda, the United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia, Malawi, Zaire, Ethiopia and Vietnam

  2. Educational Qualification:

    In order to qualify to attend the exam, candidates should hold a degree from any of the universities recognised by the UGC or possess an equivalent qualification.

  3. Age Limit :

    • Minimum age 21 years
    • Maximum age 30 years as on 1st of August in the year of examination.

    Relaxable age limit is as follows:

    • Upto max. 5 years for SC/ST candidates.
    • Upto max. 3 years for OBC candidates.
    • Upto max. 5 years for candidate from the State of Jammu & Kashmir
    • Upto max. 5 years for Defence Services personnel
    • Upto max. 5 years for Ex-servicemen including Commissioned officers and ECOs/SSCOs who have rendered at least 5 years Military Service and have been released.
    • Upto max. 5 years for ECOs/SSCOs who have completed an initial period of assignment of 5 years of Military Service.
    • Upto max. 10 years for Blind, deaf-mute and Orthopaedically handicapped persons
  4. Number of attempts:

    The maximum number of attempts is as follows:

    • General Category candidates: 4 attempts
    • Scheduled Caste /Schedued Tribe (SC/ST) candidates: No restriction
    • OBC candidates: 7 attempts