Also available in: தமிழ் , ಕನ್ನಡ

ITS Exam

Indian Trade Service Exam

What is ITS Exam?

Indian Trade Service is a group A civil service, which was created in 1965. It was created as a specialised cadre to handle India's international trade & commerce. The ITS is controlled by the Directorate General of Foreign Trade (DGFT), Ministry of Commerce.

Eligibility Criteria

  1. Nationality:

    Nationality of a candidate must be either of the following:

    • Citizen of India
    • Subject of Nepal
    • Subject of Bhutan
    • A Tibetan refugee who came to India before January 1, 1962 for permanent settlement in India.
    • Migrant from any of the following countries for permanently settling in India:
    • Pakistan, Burma, Sri Lanka, East African countries of Kenya, Uganda, the United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia, Malawi, Zaire, Ethiopia and Vietnam
  2. Educational Qualification:

    A candidate must have a degree from any of the recognised universities or possess an equivalent qualification.

  3. Age Limit :

    • Minimum age 21 years
    • Maximum age 30 years as on 1st of August in the year of examination.

    Relaxable age limit is as follows:

    • For SC/ST candidates: Upto maximum of 5 years 
    • For OBC candidates: Upto maximum of 3 years
    • For candidate from the State of Jammu & Kashmir: Upto maximum of 5 years
    • For Defence Services personnel: Upto maximum of 5 years
    • For Ex-servicemen including Commissioned officers and ECOs/SSCOs who have rendered at least 5 years Military Service and have been released: Upto maximum 5 years
    • For ECOs/SSCOs who have completed an initial period of assignment of 5 years of Military Service: Upto maximum of 5 years 
    • For Blind, deaf-mute and Orthopaedically handicapped persons: Upto maximum of 10 years
  4. Number of attempts:

    The maximum number of attempts restriction is as follows:

    For General category candidates: 4 attempts

    For SC/ST candidates: No restriction

    For OBC candidates: 7 attempts

Roles and Responsibilities

The following are the responsibilities aka designation that are assigned to ITS officers:

  1. Assistant Director General of Foreign Trade
  2. Deputy Director General of Foreign Trade
  3. Joint Director General of Foreign Trade / Director (Foreign Trade)
  4. Additional Director General of Foreign Trade / Development Commissioner (SEZ)

For great career opportunity, get instant updates on Education, Career & Job