Also available in: தமிழ் , ಕನ್ನಡ


Indian Defence Accounts Service Exam

What is IDAS Exam?

The Indian Defence Accounts Service [IDAS] is a group "A" gazetted central civil service of the government of India. It is the oldest department under the government of India.

The cadre controlling authority is the Ministry of Defense. The IDAS officers are responsible for maintaining the complete accounts of the Defence Services.

The officers of the Indian Defence Accounts Service manage the biggest budget allocation in the govt of India, i.e., the budget of the defense forces.

Eligibility Criteria

  1. Nationality:

    Nationality of a candidate must be either of the following:

    • Citizen of India
    • Subject of Nepal
    • Subject of Bhutan
    • A Tibetan refugee who came to India before January 1, 1962 for permanent settlement in India.
    • Migrant from any of the following countries for permanently settling in India:
    1. Pakistan
    2. Burma
    3. Sri Lanka
    4. East African countries of Kenya
    5. Uganda
    6. the United Republic of Tanzania
    7. Zambia
    8. Malawi
    9. Zaire
    10. Ethiopia
    11. Vietnam
  2. Educational Qualification:

    A candidate must hold a degree from any of the recognised universities or possess an equivalent qualification.

  3. Age Limit :

    Candidate should have attained the  minimum age 21 years and maximum age 30 years as on 1st of August in the year of examination.

    Relaxable age limit is as follows:

    • Upto maximum of 5 years for Scheduled Caste/ Scheduled Tribe (SC/ST) candidates.
    • Upto maximum of 3 years for Other Backward Candidates (OBC)
    • Upto maximum of 5 years for candidate from the State of Jammu & Kashmir
    • Upto maximum of 5 years for Defence Services personnel
    • Upto maximum of 5 years for Ex-servicemen including Commissioned officers and ECOs/SSCOs who have rendered at least 5 years Military Service and have been released.
    • Upto maximum of 5 years for ECOs/SSCOs who have completed an initial period of assignment of 5 years of Military Service.
    • Upto maximum of 10 years for Blind, deaf-mute and Orthopaedically handicapped persons
  4. Number of attempts:

    The number of attempts restriction is mentioned below:

    • General Category Candidates: 4 attempts
    • SC/ST Candidates: No Limits
    • OBC Candidates: 7 attempts

For great career opportunity, get instant updates on Education, Career & Job