New Education System By CBSE: 5+3+3+4 Format Applicable In Next Academic Session, Know Details

The Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE) is getting ready to transition to the 5+3+3+4 pedagogical structure per the New Education Policy (NEP) 2020 recommendations. The board would shortly issue an order requesting that all CBSE board-affiliated institutions in India begin preparations for a migration from the present 10+2 education system to the proposed 5+3+3+4 system.

New Education System By CBSE

Official Announcement: CBSE

Nidhi Chhibber, head of the CBSE, said the board would implement the change as of the 2019 academic year. She clarified that rather than the 10+2 system envisioned in NE, the board would be giving orders for the adoption of the new 5+3+3+4 education format for all the schools shortly.

New Education System

The Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE) will switch to a new educational model in the following academic year. To prepare for the transition from the current academic system to a higher-graded one that would align with the National Education Policy, the board will be issuing a directive to all CBSE-affiliated schools (NEP 2020). The CBSE 10+2 education system will be replaced with the 5+3+3+4 system.

The chief of CBSE stated that the NEP's distinguishing characteristic is the participation of children from three to six in formal education. She also emphasised how many CBSE schools are already involved in teaching younger children through their preparatory and pre-nursery programmes. The board will try to include this in the CBSE system architecture officially.

Education System as per NEP

The NEP has divided the educational system into four stages: the foundational stage is for students aged 3 to 8; the preparatory stage is for students in grades 3 to 5; the intermediate stage is for students in grades 6 to 8, and the second stage is for students in grades 9 to 12. According to the education strategy statement, the board exams for grades 10 and 12 will continue.

The NEP 2020 proposes a new pedagogical framework separating children's education into four stages. The first stage is the five-year foundational stage. Preparatory and middle stages will follow, each lasting three years. Four years will elapse during the secondary stage. According to the new classifications, children and adolescents go through different stages of cognitive development.

For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X