Bangalore University Split into 3 Varsities

Bangalore: Known as one of India's prestigious university, Bangalore University has been split into 3 universities, under the guidance of the CM Siddaramayya. This is the second attempt taken by the government to split the university.

Earlier, a similar talk had been taken up, hence, the split of Bangalore University was expected. The university has too many colleges and students under its governance, which was the main reason to take up this decision by Higher Education Minister R.V. Deshpande.

Bangalore University Split into 3 Varsities


Due to this, about 5 districts of the state shall have about 650 degree colleges respectively. About 3.5 lakh students are studying in undergraduate, postgraduate and research divisions.

It has been recommended to have 250 colleges in every varsity after the split, according to the committee.

Bangalore University shall be split into the following varsities:

  • The colleges in Kolar, Chikkbalapur, and Hosakote shall be a individual varsity.
  • The present Central University under the BBMP and for research purposes the Jnana Bharathi Campus shall remain the same.
  • While the colleges in the North of Bangalore shall be under a separate varsity, that shall be named as D.V. Gundappa University.

For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Select a Field of Study
Select a Course
Select UPSC Exam
Select IBPS Exam
Select Entrance Exam

Thousands of Careerindia readers receive our evening newsletter.
Have you subscribed?

Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Careerindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Careerindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more