Karnataka government gave nod to split Bangalore University

The much-talked discussion, about splitting the Bangalore University, comes to an end.

The Karnataka state government has agreed to split Bangalore University into three universities.

Due to the increase in the number of the colleges and students made a decision to split the University. Around 750 colleges across 5 districts are affiliated to the Bangalore University.

More than 3.5 lakh undergraduate (UG), postgraduate (PG) and Doctoral students are studying in these colleges.

Karnataka govt approve to split Bangalore Varsity


In a meeting with the university officials and ministers on January 21, 2015, Karnataka Chief Minister Siddaramaiah gave nod to split BU in the cabinet.

Earlier, the last BJP government minister Arvind Limbavali had the plan to split the University.

As per the reports, University would be divided into three. Each University would get around 250 affiliated colleges.

According to the new plan, the colleges in the Kolar, Chikaballapur districts and Hoskote will have separate university. The state government planned to give a new name to the varsity as Bangalore University North and Bangalore University South.

Some of the officials claimed that, Bangalore University North would be named after D V Gundappa University.

Earlier, the Karnataka state Governor and Chancellor H.R. Bhardwaj had opposed to bifurcate Bangalore University.

For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Select a Field of Study
Select a Course
Select UPSC Exam
Select IBPS Exam
Select Entrance Exam
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X