Also available in: தமிழ் , ಕನ್ನಡ

Bangalore University will be divided into 4 universities

Posted By:

BU will be divided into 4 universities

The much discussed plan of the state government's bifurcation of the Bangalore university has received a green signal from the officials.

The Finance Department of the University has given permission to to establish 3 universities instead of 4. Currently, more than 600 colleges are affiliated to the university.

Earlier, state government has planned to divide BU into 4 universities, as Bangalore North University, Bangalore South University, Bangalore East University and Bangalore West University. The existing university will focus in research.

According to the draft cabinet note (DCN), the Finance Department has given its approval to start 3 universities, under two heads of accounts, with an availability of Rs 45 crore for each.

The former Vice-chancellor of BU, N R Shetty said that the state government had to accept the proposal with financial assistance available for the three universities.

"For a start, we can have three universities,' said Shetty.

The department also clarified that only postgraduate (PG) courses which are in demand can be opened in the proposed new universities.

"Excluding Rs 45 crore available under two heads of accounts and expected funds under the Rashtriya Uchchatar Shiksha Abhiyan (RUSA), no new additional costs can be borne," the statement added.

The estimation cost for the creation of the new universities would requires Rs 500/- crore each. The new varsities are expecting to generate an income of Rs 17 cross through examination fee and affiliation fees.

It is also noted that the existing university need to constitute additional chief secretaries to allocate human recourses, infrastructure and examination for proposed new universities.

Please Wait while comments are loading...

Thousands of Careerindia readers receive our evening newsletter.
Have you subscribed?