TSPSC Group Exams: Political Status of Telangana

Posted By:

Telangana as a region was under self-rule from 1952 until the date of 1 November 1956. Until 1948 the Telangana was a part of Hyderabad. On September 17, 1948, following the surrender of Nizam of Hyderabad state was merged with India. After liberation in 1952, for the first time in this region of the Kingdom of Hyderabad, Hyderabad, the state assembly/ Lok Sabha elections was held in Hyderabad.

The Congress Party and the Communist Party was strong in this area. Ravi Hayes, Communist leader won the majority of the country in the first Lok Sabha elections while in the Hyderabad Assembly elections, Ramakrishna Burgula from Congress became chief minister.

On November 1, 1956 Andhra Pradesh became an independent state and in 1969 the Telangana movement started. In the 1971 Lok Sabha elections Telangana prajasamiti party bagged the 11 seats and won the elections. During 1971-73 PV Narasimha Rao became the Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh by contesting from Karimnagar district. After 11 month of presidential rule from December 1973 to March 1978 Jalagam Vengalaravu became the CM of Andhra Pradesh contesting from Kammam district.

TSPSC Group Exams: Political Status of Telangana

Known Industrialist from Rangareddy district and Telangana Prajasmaithi leader Mari Chennareddy joined Congress and became CM of AP from March 1978 to October 1980. After him, from October 1980, Tangaturi Anjaiah from Medak district served as CM until February 1982.

In 1982, Telugudesham party was started by NT Ramarao, in the 1983 elections, Telugudehsam party saw a majority even in the Telangana region. From December 1989 to December 1990, Mari Chennareddy became the CM of AP for the second time. After that none of the members belonging to the Telangana region did not become the CM of AP.

In 2011, after the movement for a separate Telangana state, the post of Deputy Chief Minister was awarded to Damodar Rajanarasimha. In 2001 April, after separating itself from Telugudesham party for obtaining a separate state of Telangana, the TRS party has undergone numerous changes.

In 2004, Lok Sabha elections, TRS in alliance with Congress party won 26 seats, 5 seats were won by TRS. In 2009 Lok Sabha election, Congress won 12 seats, Telugudesham won 2 while TRS won 2 and MAM party won 1 seat. In 2009 legislative elections, congress party won with a majority of 119 seats. The alliance of TRS with TDP did not win any seats.

In 2015 legislative elections, TRS party won a majority making the first government to rule separate Telangana state. TRS president, K Chandrasekhar Rao, on June 2, 2014, became the Chief Minister of Telangana.

Also read: TSPSC Exams: No More Confusion Over Reference Books, Says Sunkkireddy


Thousands of Careerindia readers receive our evening newsletter.
Have you subscribed?

For great career opportunity, get instant updates on Education, Career & Job