Indian Air Force Opens Admissions for Officers Through AFCAT: Apply Now!

By Malavikka

Indian Air Force has invited applications for candidates to attend the Air Force Common Admission Test (AFCAT). The course begins from 1 January 2017.


The curriculum will cover grant of short service commission (SSC) in flying branch and Permanent commission (PC) / short service commission in ground duty Tehnical and ground duty Non technical branches. Candidates can apply online in the air force official website.

Indian Air Force Opens Admissions for Officers

Name of the test

Air Force Common Admission Test (AFCAT)


Degree like BE, B.Tech., MCA, MA, M.Sc.

Job Location

All India


Not Specified

Last date of admission

28th December 2016

No. of Vacancies


Age Criteria

The age of the candidate should not be between 20 and 24

Educational qualification

A three year degree / BE / B.Tech. / MBA / MCA / MA / M.Sc.

Selection Process

Selection will consist of two rounds:

  • Written Exam
  • Personal Interview

How to apply for AFCAT 2017

  • Visit
  • On the right top side of the homepage, click Candidate Login
  • A new login page will appear. Click New Candidate button
  • Fill the details such as name, gender, DOB, etc and register yourself
  • You will receive a login ID and password. Note it down for future reference
  • Login again and fill other forms that will ask your choice of job location, etc
  • Click Submit

Candidates will receive e-mail at once their centres are confirmed. Log in back to your account and download the admit card. Take a print out and carry it to the exam hall in order to be permitted inside.

AFCAT Centres

Ambala Halwara Nagpur
AmritsarHashimara Ojhar (Nasik)
Allahabad Hyderabad Pathankot
Allahabad Imphal Patna
Ahmedabad Jalandhar Pune
Barnala Jammu Port Blair
Bathinda Jorhat Salua (Kharagpur)
Bengaluru Jaipur Srinagar
Belgaum Jamnagar Suratgarh
Bidar Jodhpur Sirsa
Bagdogra Kanpur Saharanpur
Bareilly Kolkata Shillong
Chandigarh Kalaikunda Silchar
Chabua Kochi Sulur (CoImbatore)
Chennai Leh Thane
Dehradun Lucknow Tezpur
Delhi Mumbai Thanjavur
Gorakhpur Mohanbari Thiruvananthapuram
Gwalior Mysore Vadodara
Guwahati Nal (Bikaner) Varanasi

    Dates to remember:

    • Starting date for the submission of online application is 3rd December 2016.
    • Last date for the submission of online application is 29th December 2016.
    Note: Candidates who habitually wear spectacles are not eligible. Medical Examination will be conducted at AFCME, New Delhi or IAM Bengaluru based on the recommendations at AFSB. Non reporting of candidates on allotted date for medicals could lead to cancellation of candidature.

    Also Read:

    For Quick Alerts
    For Daily Alerts

    Select a Field of Study
    Select a Course
    Select UPSC Exam
    Select IBPS Exam
    Select Entrance Exam
    Get Instant News Updates
    Notification Settings X
    Time Settings
    Clear Notification X
    Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
    Settings X