What Is KPSC KAS Examination?

Know About KAS Examination
The KPSC (Karnataka Public Service Commission) , established in 1951 under the provisions of the Constitution, recruits candidates to the various civil services across the state. The selection is done on the basis of marks scored by candidates in the commission's examination ( preliminary and main) and personality test. For some services in the state, the commission only conducts written competitive examination or takes a personality test of the candidate.

For an effective administration of the Government, it is the policy of the Government to recruit dynamic youngsters in the administration of the State. For this purpose Gazetted probationers Rules of 1966 has been introduced.


It is provided in the Rules that the Commission should invite applications from the eligible candidates for recruitment to the posts coming under Group I & II Civil Service posts. Up to 1997, these examinations were conducted at a single stage followed by Personality Test.

In the year 1997 this procedure was given up and the rules were amended on the lines of Civil Service examinations conducted by the U.P.S.C.

Karnataka Administrative Service (KAS) examination is a three stage process:

Stage I. Preliminary Examination (Objective Type) for the Selection of candidates to the main examination; and

Stage II. Main Examination (Written Examination) for selection of candidates to the personality test.

Stage III. Personality test: For final selection of candidates to various posts/ cadres

Examination Process at 3 stages as before:

1. Preliminary Exam ---> having 2 papers

  • Paper1 General studies
  • Paper2 Mostly as CSAT paper2

2. Mains Exam --->

  • Optional Subject 1--->Paper1 and Paper2
  • Optional Subject 2--->Paper1 and Paper2
  • General studies paper--->Paper1 and Paper2

3. Compulsory English and Compulsory Kannada

4. Personality Test

Attempts at the Examination: Every candidate appearing for the examination, who is otherwise eligible, shall be permitted for any number of attempts in case of candidates belonging to the Scheduled Castes and the Scheduled Tribes, not more than 7 attempts in case of candidates belonging to Other Backward Classes and not more than 5 attempts in case of other candidates subject to the age limit prescribed. Appearance of the candidate at the preliminary examination shall be deemed to be an attempt irrespective of disqualification or cancellation, as the case may be of his candidature.

For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Select a Field of Study
Select a Course
Select UPSC Exam
Select IBPS Exam
Select Entrance Exam
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X