Also available in: தமிழ் , ಕನ್ನಡ

Offices Of 9 Canadian Universities Starts In India

Posted By:

 Canadian Universities Offices In India
With the growing demand of foreign varsities in India an association of 9 Canadian Universities have decided to start their offices in 3 major cities of India, namely; Mumbai, Delhi and Chennai. This was revealed by Carleton University on February 14, 2012.

The sources from the university disclosed that their presence in Southern parts of India and also help in integrating their research and academic activities. The consortium of 9 Universities include Ryeson University, University of Ottawa, Simon Fraser University, University of Guelph, University of New Brunswick, University of Carleton, University of Waterloo, Universite Laval and University of Manitoba.

About Universities of Canada: In Canada, the constitutional responsibility for universities rests with the provinces and territories. The decision to assign responsibility for universities to local legislatures was enacted as law in the British North America Act in 1867, later renamed the Constitution Act in 1982; it states: "in and for each Province, the Legislature may exclusively make laws in relation to Education." As a result of this constitutional agreement, a distinctive system of higher education has evolved in each province .

The Association of Universities and Colleges of Canada (AUCC), an organization composed of Canadian universities, defines two distinct types of post-secondary institutions in Canada: universities and colleges. Universities grant university degrees, which include bachelor's degrees, master's degrees, and doctoral degrees; and colleges, also known as community colleges, provide diplomas. In some cases, universities must be a member of AUCC to be able to grant university degrees.

However, in other provinces membership is no guarantee of university status. Provincial and territorial governments provide the majority of funding to their public universities, with the remainder of funding coming from the federal government,tuition fees, and research grants.

Please Wait while comments are loading...

Thousands of Careerindia readers receive our evening newsletter.
Have you subscribed?