UGC: Only 179 Universities accredited by NAAC

Posted By:

Only 179 Universities accredited by NAAC

University Grants Commission (UGC), New Delhi releases the list of universities, which is accredited by National Assessment of Accreditation Council (NAAC).

Only 179 universities are accredited by the NAAC for the year 2014.

A total of 651 universities are working all over the country.

Around 102 universities have valid accreditation from NAAC. 82 universities applied for NAAC accreditation.

Around 133 universities are eligible for accreditation, but they have to apply for it.

However, 29 of the 77 universities have applied for re-accreditation. Anna University and Madras University were among them.

The 150-year-old university was awarded an 'A' grade by the NAAC. On the other hand, Anna University has been functioning without accreditation since 2007.

Out of 179 universities accredited by NAAC, accreditation period is valid for 102 universities and accreditation period but not valid for 77 universities.

Out of 77 universities, 29 have applied for re-accreditation to NAAC.

Out of 44 deemed to be universities under category "C", 5 universities accreditation is valid.

The list of the universities names is available in UGC website.

You can read more education related news here..


Thousands of Careerindia readers receive our evening newsletter.
Have you subscribed?

For great career opportunity, get instant updates on Education, Career & Job