State cabinet approves trifurcation of Bangalore University

Bangalore, May 27: The state cabinet on Monday approved the Bangalore University Trifurcation Bill along with the jurisdiction for the newly formulated universities.

According to TOI reports, the Bangalore university would be split into three units namely: Bangalore South University, Bangalore North University and the Bangalore Central University.

State cabinet approves trifurcation of BU


The affiliation of colleges to these varsities will be decided on the basis of assembly constituencies, which will come under their jurisdiction.

Bangalore South University will function from Jnanabharathi campus. The campus of Bangalore Central University will be located at the Bangalore Central College while the Bangalore North University's main campus will be based at Jangamakote in Siddlaghatta. The Bangalore North university will function from the Kolar Post Graduate Center in Kolar untill the new campus comes up.

According to sources, "There are 200 affiliated colleges under each new university and the three universities would offer both teaching and research activities."

The proposal of a three-way split of BU had earlier received the approval of the Karnataka government, with the cabinet deciding to implement the trifurcation on the basis of the recommendations of an expert committee.

The state government had set up an expert committee to work out the modalities of a possible split, which is aimed to result in a system of effective as well as efficient administration of Bangalore University.

For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Select a Field of Study
Select a Course
Select UPSC Exam
Select IBPS Exam
Select Entrance Exam

Thousands of Careerindia readers receive our evening newsletter.
Have you subscribed?

Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Careerindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Careerindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more