Also available in: தமிழ் , ಕನ್ನಡ

Research University for technical education in Odisha

Posted By:

Odisha to get Research University

Odisha state will soon get its first Research University, if everything goes according to the plans of the state government. The state government is planning to set this university as a part of the Union Government flagship programme which plans to revamp the higher education in India, Rashtriya Uchchatar Shiksha Abhiyan (RUSA).

The University will encourage and motivate focused research and development through the proposed campus. The Principal Secretary (Technical Education), Chandra Sekhar Kumar says "The university would not affiliate any college for undergraduate courses such as B.Tech, but offer only masters and post-doctoral degree programmes."
He added further "The technical education department has also suggested creation of cluster universities in all major cities such as Bhubaneswar, Cuttack, Berhampur and Sambalpur. The cluster universities would have hand-holding smaller colleges around it. Such a move would also help these institutions share each other's infrastructure and undertake student and faculty exchange programmes."

Apart from this plan, the government has also decided to divide Biju Patnaik University into two. This decision came in order to fulfill RUSA norms, which says "A university having more than 72colleges can be split into two." BPUT has 173 affiliated colleges. The BPUT II would have affiliated colleges for both undergraduate and postgraduate courses like the existing varsity.

18th January is the last date for the states to submit their state plans under RUSA.

"Department would finalise its perspective five-year plan under RUSA by this month. Odisha is eligible to receive Rs. 120 crores for research and development during the current plan period" says Kumar.

You can read more education related news here.

Please Wait while comments are loading...

Thousands of Careerindia readers receive our evening newsletter.
Have you subscribed?