Also available in: தமிழ் , ಕನ್ನಡ

Private and Deemed universities to conduct single entrance exam

Posted By:

Single Medical Entrance Exam

The Private and Deemed Universities across the country has decided to hold common single entrance examination for admission to various professional courses under ERA Foundation.

For for 1st, the entrance exam will be held for postgraduate medical and dental courses for the academic year 2015-16. The first test will be held on February 15, 2015.

ERA Foundation:
ERA Foundation marks dawn of a new ERA in the education ecosystem. ERA foundation Educational Assessment and Rating Foundation is a not-for-profit company incorporated under Section 25 of the Indian Companies Act, 1956.

ERA Foundation operates with a larger objective of enabling holistic improvement of the education sector through consultation and cooperation with key stakeholders including policy makers, education institutions, the corporate sector and the student community.

The foundation is headed by S V Ranganath, retired IAS officer and former chief secretary. Other prominent members are Dr M R Jayaram, Chairman of Gokula Education Trust, Dr K R S Murthy, former director of IIM Bangalore, Dr G Vishwanathan, chancellor of VIT University, Vellore, Dr Prasanth Bhalla, Chancellor of Manav Rachana International University, Faridabad.

The foundation will conduct entrance exams for undergraduate programmes and also for pharmacy, law, management and technical courses. The exam will be held online and will attract minimal fees.

The registration for the PG medical and dental exam will begin from November 15, 2014. The test is not related to any test conducted by ComedK and state governments.

The foundation, in association with TCS, conducts the test and hands over the rank list to the universities, which then decide on the admission of the candidate, Jayaram said.

However, the test will conduct for admission to 60% of seats in private, and 75% of seats in deemed universities and remaining seats will be given to the state governments.

List of member universities:

  • JSS University, Mysore
  • M S Ramaiah University, Bangalore
  • VIT University, Vellore
  • Devraj Urs University, Kolar
  • Reva University, Bangalore
  • Manav Rachana International University, Faridabad
  • K L University, Guntur

Please Wait while comments are loading...

Thousands of Careerindia readers receive our evening newsletter.
Have you subscribed?