Also available in: தமிழ் , ಕನ್ನಡ

President Shri Pranab Mukherjee Presents National Award to Teachers

Posted By:

Pranab Presents National Award to Teachers

The President Shri Pranab Mukherjee had presented the National Awards to Teachers-2013 on Teachers Day, September 05, 2014. Around 378 teachers were awarded in the function.

The Scheme of National Award to Teachers was introduced in 1958 with the objective of enhancing the prestige of teachers and given public recognition to teachers of outstanding merit. Up to 1965 the Scheme covered teacher of Primary, Middle, Secondary and Higher Secondary schools only. From 1965, its scope was enlarged to cover teacher of Sanskrit Pathshalas. In 1976, it was further extended to cover Persian/Arabic teachers of Madrasas run on traditional lines, Awards have also been allotted for teacher of Primary and Secondary schools in Kendriya Vidyalayas, N.V.S., C.T.S.A., C.I.S.C.E., Sainik Schools and Atomic Energy Education Society.

Read: Teacher: An irreplaceable gift of kindness and knowledge

43 awards have been allotted to teachers who promote the education of children with disabilities in regular schools by States/UTs and other school systems.

The number of awards allotted to a State depends upon the strength of the teaching community in that State. Each State/U.T. is, however, entitled to at least one Award for the Category of Primary schools teachers and one for the Secondary school teachers. The total number of awards presently stands at 378.

Under the Scheme, school teachers are selected for the award on the basis of their academic efficiency, desire for improvement in education, genuine interest in and love for children, involvement in social life and reputation enjoyed in the local community.

The names of the teacher awards are recommended in the first instance, by the District Education Officer, etc. on the basis of teacher's record of work. It is further vetted by the District Committee. The recommendations of the Committee are scrutinised/ examined by the State Selection Committee, which forwards its recommendations, in order of merit, to the State Government. The State Government in turn sends the same to the Union Government along with Character Certificate of faultless antecedents and absolute integrity duly signed by the State Education Secretary. The Union Government makes the final selection. Each award consists of a Certificate of Merit, a Silver Medal and a Cash Prize of Rs. 25,000/-

The President also gave away the National Communication Technology (ICT) Award for the years 2010, 2011, 2012 & 2013. In all, 41 teachers (13 in the year 2010, 7 in the year 2011, 9 in the year 2012 and 12 for the year 2013) have been awarded the ‘National Information Communication (ICT) Award for School Teachers.

This award proposes to felicitate those teachers who have enhanced learning by effectively and innovatively integrating technology supported learning into the school curriculum and subject teaching, and thereby promoted enquiry-based cooperative-collaborative learning using National Information Communication amongst students.

Please Wait while comments are loading...

Thousands of Careerindia readers receive our evening newsletter.
Have you subscribed?