President's green signal for six new IITs in India

By Deepak

President of India, Pranab Mukherjee, showed green signal to the law to establish six new Indian Institutes of Technology (IITs) in India. These IITs will be established at Jammu and Tirupati.

Where else will the IITs be started?

The IITs will also be started at the following places -

  • Palakkad, Kerala
  • Goa
  • Dharwad, Karnataka
  • Bhilai, Chattisgarh

These institutes will be started as per the Institutes of Technology (Amendment) Act, 2016.

The above mentioned law has also made a significant change by bringing Indian School of Mines (ISM), Dhanbad within its scope. ISM, Dhanbad will be called Indian Insitute of Technology, Dhanbad.


According to Zee News, all the institutions mentioned above will enjoy national prominence.

Only 25 July 2016, the Lok Sabha had passed the Institutes of Technology (Amendment) Bill. Later, on 02 August 2016, Rajya Sabha approved the bill.

President's green signal for six new IITs in India

A National Institute of Technology (NIT) in Andhra Pradesh

Along with the law for establishing the Institutes of Technology in six places, the President also gave nod for a law for establishment of a National Institute of Technology (NIT) in Andhra Pradesh.

The upcoming NIT in Andhra will also enjoy national significance under the National Institutes of Technology, Science Education and Research (Amendment) Act, 2016.

Also read:

Bill For Opening 6 New IITs Passed by Lok Sabha

Parliament Approves 6 New IITs Across The Country

Advance old IITs and set up new IITs: Students to HRD Minister

For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Select a Field of Study
Select a Course
Select UPSC Exam
Select IBPS Exam
Select Entrance Exam

Thousands of Careerindia readers receive our evening newsletter.
Have you subscribed?

Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Careerindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Careerindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more