Karnataka state government to establish 6 new medical colleges

Karnataka to establish 6 new medical colleges


The Karnataka state medical education department has announced that the state government will establish 6 new government medical colleges in the economically backward districts across the state.

After establishing these colleges, Karnataka will become the state with the highest number of medical colleges in the country. The total number of government medical colleges in the state would be 22.

The expenditure of each medical colleges would be approximately Rs 199 crore. Colleges will come up in Tumkur, Chitradurga, Chikkaballapur, Bagalkot, Haveri and Yadgir. These colleges would have 150 MBBS seats each. The establishment of these medical colleges would be finished by the next academic year 2015.

Currently, 16 government medical colleges are functioning at Bangalore, Mysore, Bellary, Hubli, Bidar, Raichur, Belgaum, Shimoga, Hassan and Mandya.

According to the officials, once all the government medical colleges start functioning, the total number of medical seats will be increased to 4,000. Currently, around 2,200 seats are under the government quota. These new colleges will add another 1,800 seats to the seat matrix.

For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

    Select a Field of Study
    Select a Course
    Select UPSC Exam
    Select IBPS Exam
    Select Entrance Exam

    Thousands of Careerindia readers receive our evening newsletter.
    Have you subscribed?

    For great career opportunity, get instant updates on Education, Career & Job

    We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Careerindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Careerindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more