JEE Main Cutoff To Be Released With JEE Main Results On September 11

The JEE Main Cutoff will be released by the National Testing Agency (NTA) along with the declaration of the result by September 11, 2020. There are two types of JEE Main Cutoff - Qualifying and Admission Cutoff.


Recommended: [To check your admission chances in NITs/ IIITs/ State colleges based on JEE Main scores/ rank, use JEE Main College Predictor]

The JEE Main Qualifying Cutoff is the minimum percentile that candidates should secure to be eligible to appear for JEE Advanced. This will be announced by the NTA along with the JEE Main Result 2020. NTA will release the JEE Main Cutoff category-wise, which means it will vary for candidates belonging to the general, OBC, EWS, SC, ST, and PwD categories.

JEE Main Admission Cutoff are ranks at which admissions close in the B.Tech courses offered by 31 NITs, 25 IIITs and 28 GFTIs that participate in the common counselling. These JEE Main Cutoff ranks are released by the Joint Seat Allocation Authority (JoSAA), the conducting body for the counselling.

JEE Main Cutoff To Be Released On September 11

Factors Deciding JEE Main Cutoff

Some factors play a major role in determining the qualifying cutoff of JEE Main. They are:

  • Total number of seats available
  • Difficulty level of JEE Main exam
  • Previous year cutoff trends
  • Number of candidates who appeared for the exam

The cutoff for JEE Main 2020 will be declared with the result. Till then, candidates can check the previous year's (2019) cutoff here for reference:

JEE Main Qualifying Cutoff 2019

Category Total NTA Score Cutoff Based on Paper 1
Common Rank List (CRL)89.7548849
Other Backward Classes (OBC-NCL)74.3166557
Scheduled Caste (SC)54.0128155
Scheduled Tribe (ST)44.3345172

Since NTA has adopted the normalization process for calculation of the JEE Main Result from 2019, the JEE Qualifying Cutoff is in the form of percentile scores.

The JEE Main 2020 exam is being conducted from September 1-6 in the online mode. The scores/ranks of the exam will be used for admission into 31 NITs, 25 IIITs, and 28 CFTIs. States like Bihar, Madhya Pradesh, Haryana, Uttarakhand, Odisha, Punjab, Jharkhand and Nagaland, and many other private universities and colleges also accept JEE Main ranks for admission.

For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Select a Field of Study
Select a Course
Select UPSC Exam
Select IBPS Exam
Select Entrance Exam
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X