NAAC granted fresh accreditation to 42 higher education institutions

Fresh accreditation granted by NAAC
The National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC) has granted new accreditation to 42 higher educational institutions and re-assessed the accreditation of 34 other institutions.


The NAAC has accredited four new universities and 38 new colleges across the country. This includes Hindustan Institute of Technology and Science (HITS), deemed university, and five colleges located at Thiruvithancode, Kanyakumari, Chennai, Namakkal and Tiruchy.

While the deemed university and college in Chennai were accredited with ‘A' grade, the other four colleges were accredited with ‘B' grade.

The NAAC has assessed and granted re-accreditation to three universities and 31 colleges across the country. In Tamil Nadu, a deemed university and five colleges were re-accredited.

Avinashilingam University for Women in Coimbatore was upgraded to ‘A' grade from its previous grading of ‘B++'.

Commenting on the university's upgradation in NAAC rating, Vice-Chancellor Sheela Ramachandran said, "It is the team work of the university faculty and staff members."

The five colleges which were re-accredited by the NAAC are in Sivakasi, Vellore, Tirupur, Madurai and Thoothukudi.

While the other four colleges were re-accredited with ‘A' grade, the college in Thoothukudi was re-accredited with ‘B' grade.

About NAAC.

The NATIONAL ASSESSMENT AND ACCREDITATION COUNCIL (NAAC) are an autonomous body established by the University Grants Commission (UGC) of India to assess and accredit institutions of higher education in the country. It is an outcome of the recommendations of the National Policy in Education (1986) which laid special emphasis on upholding the quality of higher education in India. To address the issues of quality, the National Policy on Education (1986) and the Plan of Action (POA-1992) advocated the establishment of an independent national accreditation body. Consequently, the NAAC was established in 1994 with its headquarters at Bangalore.

NAAC's working is governed by the General Council (GC) and the Executive Committee (EC) on which University Grants Commission (UGC), All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE), Ministry of Human Resource Development (MHRD), Association of Indian Universities (AIU), Universities, Colleges and other professional institutions are represented. Senior academics and educational administrators are nominated as members on these two bodies.

For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Select a Field of Study
Select a Course
Select UPSC Exam
Select IBPS Exam
Select Entrance Exam
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X