UPSC CSAT-2013 Eligibility Criteria

CSAT-2013 Eligibility Criteria
CSAT (Civil Services Aptitude Test) is a test conducted by UPSC (Union Public Service Commission) every year in order to select candidates for the Civil Services Mains Exams.

Here is the detailed Eligibility Criteria for CSAT-2013.


Any Indian Nationals who have attained the Age of 21 years, and not have attained the upper age limit on 1st August of the year in which he/she attempts the exams are eligible.

The upper age limit varies for various categories. Check below for details.

  • General Category : 30 years
  • SC/ST Category: 35 years
  • Physically Handicapped: 40 years

Qualifications Required:

  1. The candidates must hold any degree in any discipline from any recognized university.
  2. Final year degree students who will obtain degree by August 1, 2013 aer also eligible for CSAT 2013.
  3. The degree can be of any class (Distinction, first, second etc)
  4. Degree obtained by distance education/ open university is also eligible if the University is a recognized university.

Please Note:

  1. For some candidates there is a limit on the number of time s you can attempt IAS exams (Civil Service Exams).
  2. Even attending to one paper of CSAT (IAS Prelim Exams) counts as an attempt.
  3. Applying for CSAT (IAS Prelim Exams) but not attending for any paper Does Not count as an attempt.

Below are the number of attempts specified for each category.

  • General Category: 4 Attempts
  • OBC: 7 Attempts
  • Physically Handicapped: 7 Attempts
  • SC/ST : No limit for number of attempts

Also Read:

CSAT-2013 Notification

Application Form

Syllabus and Exam Pattern

Reference Books

For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Select a Field of Study
Select a Course
Select UPSC Exam
Select IBPS Exam
Select Entrance Exam
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X