Also available in: தமிழ் , ಕನ್ನಡ

Seven New Medical Colleges To Function From 2013

Posted By:

7 New Medical Colleges From 2013 Onwards
Seven new medical colleges are to come up in Karnataka. The Government has provided permission to start the colleges at Tumkur, Chamrajnagar, Haveri, Chitradurga, Koppal, Gadag and Madikeri. Complete facilities are being functioned in order to start from the financial year 2013-14 onwards.

Each Medical College is expected to have 100 seats at the under graduate level. Medical Council Of India is likely to visit these colleges for inspection during the month of January.

The Education Minister SA Ramdas told that "The cabinet has also cleared the proposal for upgradation of medical college teaching hospital, Bidar, with financial allocation of Rs.87.50 crore. With this upgradation, the bed strength of the hospital will increase from 350 to 750".

More over, it is also planned to bring up a tertiary cancer centre in all the nine medical colleges with a aim to provide facilities for early detection and treatment for cancer patients.

Ramadass said "At present the workload in Kidwai Institute of Oncology is very high and many patients may have to wait for longer period for getting appropriate treatment. In addition, poor patients have to travel a long distance to reach this hospital and it is a huge financial burden for them".

To come up with all these plans the Union government shall provide Rs.50 crore and state government shall provide 10 crore per institute for the establishment of the tertiary cancer centre.

Please Wait while comments are loading...

Thousands of Careerindia readers receive our evening newsletter.
Have you subscribed?