Also available in: தமிழ் , ಕನ್ನಡ

IIT, Bombay Celebrates Golden Jubilee Convocation

Posted By:

Golden Jubilee Convocation at IIT Bombay
Convocation Day is the highlight of a student's life as it marks the culmination of their academic life. The Indian Institute of Technology Bombay today held its 50th Convocation, at the Convocation Hall of IIT Bombay.

Dr. Manmohan Singh, Hon'ble Prime Minister of India, was the Chief Guest and delivered the Golden Jubilee Convocation Address. Shri Kapil Sibal, Hon'ble Minister of Human Resource Development, His Excellency Shri K. Shankaranarayanan, Governor of Maharashtra, and Shri Prithviraj Chavan, Chief Minister of Maharashtra, were also on the dais and graced the occasion.

Prof. Devang Khakhar, Director, IIT Bombay, said "The 50th Convocation is a significant milestone for the institute. This year, IIT Bombay gave away degrees to successful candidates at various levels. In this convocation, a total of 2006 degrees will be awarded.  These include 175 Ph.D., 1 dual degree (M.Tech.+Ph.D.), 4 dual degree (M.Sc.+Ph.D.), 1 M.Phil. (exit), 11 M.Phil., 633 M.Tech., 119 M.Mgmt., 54 M.Des., 198 five-year B.Tech.+M.Tech. dual degree, 10 PGDIIT, 17 five-year integrated M.Sc., 200 two-year M.Sc. And 380 B.Tech. degrees. The institute has responded pragmatically to the large increase in the intake by substantially reorienting itself academically, technologically and administratively and using it as a great opportunity to retain its leadership in engineering education in the country".

IIT Bombay continues to be the top choice for students. This year 78 out of top 100 JEE rankers joined IIT Bombay. Research funding has increased significantly with sponsored and consultancy funds of Rs. 193 crore received this year which is helping us build a research infrastructure which is of world standard, he reported.

At this convocation 55 students received Medals in different categories. Mr. Kamath Pritish Uday of Computer Science & Engineering was awarded the President of India Medal. The Institute Gold Medal was awarded to Mr. Yashovardhan Sushil Chati of Aerospace Engineering Department and Dr. Shankar Dayal Sharma Gold Medal was awarded to Mr. John Joy of Mechanical Engineering Department.

The Degree of Doctor of Science (Honoris Causa) was conferred upon Mr. Azim Premji, Chairman, Wipro Limited, by the Chief Guest, for his extraordinary commitment and contribution to trade and industry, for furthering the cause of values of business ethics, and for his philanthropy and far-reaching vision.

The occasion was also graced by many distinguished dignitaries including the Chairman Dr. Anil Kakodkar and the Members of the Board of Governors. The Convocation was also attended by the proud parents of the graduating students.

Please Wait while comments are loading...

Thousands of Careerindia readers receive our evening newsletter.
Have you subscribed?