List Of Prime Minister Of India From 1947 To 2022 And Important Articles On Prime Minister

According to the provisions of the Constitution of India the basic structure of the Government of India is based on three main pillars; the Legislative, the Executive and the Judiciary. At the same time all the supreme powers are vested in Parliament, Prime Minister and the Supreme Court of India.


The president is the constitutional, ceremonial or nominal head of the states, whereas the Prime Minister leads the executive of the Indian government. He is appointed by the President of India for a period of 5 years. Normally the leader of the party in majority in Lok Sabha is appointed by the President for the position of Prime Minister as the Head of the government.

List Of Prime Ministers Of India From 1947 To 2022

Important Articles On Prime Minister

Article 74 to 78 deals with the provisions regarding the post of Prime Minister as the Executive head of the Council of ministers to aid and advise the President of India. Let's Have a look at some of the important articles:
Article 74: It states that there shall be a council of ministers headed by the Prime Minister to aid and advise the President on crucial matters and policy decisions.
Article 75:

  • Article 75(A) Deals with the appointment of the Prime Minister by the President and council of ministers which is formed on the advice of the Prime Minister by the President.
  • Article 75(B) states that, the ministers shall hold the office during the pleasure of the President and
  • Article 75(C) states that the council of ministers shall be responsible for the house of people.

Article 78: It deals with various duties of the Prime Minister as respects the furnishing of Information to the President.

List of Prime Ministers of India

The first and longest serving Prime Minister of India was Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru followed by Indira Gandhi. Since 1947 India has had 15 Prime Ministers including one Acting Prime Minister, Guljarilal Nanda who served as PM just for 13 days. In Present Mr Narendra Modi is serving as the Executive head of the government since May 26, 2014 for the 2nd term. Here we are presenting the list of Prime Ministers Since 1947 to 2022.

Jawahar Lal Nehru(1889-1964)15 August 1947 to 27 May 1964
16 years, 286 days
Gulzarilal Nanda (Acting)(1898-1998)27 May 1964 to 9 June 1964,
13 days
Lal Bahadur Shastri(1904-1966)9 June 1964 to 11 January 1966
1 year, 216 days
Gulzari Lal Nanda (Acting)(1898-1998)11 January 1966 to 24 January 1966
13 days
Indira Gandhi(1917-1984)24 January 1966 to 24 March 1977
11 years, 59 days
Morarji Desai(1896-1995)24 March 1977 to 28 July 1979
2 year, 126 days
Charan Singh(1902-1987)28 July 1979 to 14 January 1980
170 days
Indira Gandhi(1917-1984)14 January 1980 to 31 October 1984
4 years, 291 days
Rajiv Gandhi(1944-1991)31 October 1984 to 2 December 1989
5 years, 32 days
V. P. Singh(1931-2008)2 December 1989 to 10 November 1990
343 days
Chandra Shekhar(1927-2007)10 November 1990 to 21 June 1991
223 days
P. V. Narasimha Rao(1921-2004)21 June 1991 to 16 May 1996
4 years, 330 days
Atal Bihari Vajpayee(1924- 2018)16 May 1996 to 1 June 1996
16 days
H. D. Deve Gowda(born 1933)1 June 1996 to 21 April 1997
324 days
Inder Kumar Gujral(1919-2012)21 April 1997 to 19 March 1998
332 days
Atal Bihari Vajpayee(1924-2018)19 March 1998 to 22 May 2004
6 years, 64 days
Manmohan Singh(born 1932)22 May 2004 to 26 May 2014
10 years, 4 days
Narendra Modi(born 1950)26 May 2014 - Present
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Select a Field of Study
Select a Course
Select UPSC Exam
Select IBPS Exam
Select Entrance Exam
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X