List Of National Presidents Of BJP From 1980 To 2022

BJP which is an abbreviation of Bharatiya Janata Party is one of the two major National Political parties in India along with the Indian National Congress. The President of BJP or any other party is the Chief Executive Authority who is responsible for chairing party's meetings and important decisions.


The current serving President of BJP is Mr. Jagat Prakash Nadda who is serving as the National head of BJP since January 20, 2020. Here we are going to learn about the formation of India's Ruling party BJP, basic requirements to be a President and who have been the national presidents of the party since its formation in 1980s to 2022.

List Of National Presidents Of BJP From 1980 To 20

Formation Of Bharatiya Janata Party

Bharatiya Janata Party came into existence in 1980. Its origin lies in Bhartiya Jana Sangh which was formed by the collaboration of Dr Shyama Prasad Mukharjee and Hindu Nationalist arm Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh in 1951. Then in 1977 after the condition of emergency, Jana Sangh merged with several other parties as a result Janata Party was formed.

In the 1977 General elections, Jana Sangh defeated the then ruling party Indian National Congress. After three years in power, the Janata party dissolved in 1980 with the members of the erstwhile Jana Sangh reconvening to form the BJP. After the Ram Janmabhoomi Movement the party grew in strength on the back of the Ram Janmabhoomi movement. Following victories in several state elections in 1996 the BJP became the largest party in the parliament. Under the BJP Government then party leader Atal Bihari Vajpayee served for 13 days as the Prime Minister of India in 1996 for the first time.

In the 1998 general election, under the leadership of Atal Bihari Vajpayee, the BJP-led coalition known as the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) formed a government that lasted for a year. In the next General elections the NDA government, again headed by Vajpayee, lasted for a full term in office; as the first non-congress government to do so.

Who Can Be Appointed As The National President Of The Party?

  • A member to be elected as party's President needs to have been in the party for at least 15 years.
  • The President is nominally elected by an electoral college composed of members drawn from the party's National and State councils.
  • The term of President for 3 years and individuals may not serve more than two consecutive terms.
  • Also a person who is the President of the party is not eligible to hold any usually post within a government.

Facts On BJP National Presidents

  • Atal Bihari Vajpayee was the first President of BJP at the time of its inception in 1980.
  • Then in 1986, Lal Krishna Advani was sworn in as the party president and has a record of longest serving president of BJP for over three different periods. A total of 11 people have served as the president of the BJP, including Rajnath Singh and Amit Shah.
  • Amit Shah has also served for two terms as National President of BJP.
  • In January 2020, Jagat Prakash Nadda was appointed as the president.

List Of BJP National President Since 1980-2022

1980-1986Atal Bihari VajpayeeMadhya Pradesh
1986-1991Lal Krishna AdvaniGujarat
1991-1993Murli Manohar JoshiUttar Pradesh
1993-1998Lal Krishna AdvaniGujarat
1998-2000Kushabhau ThakreMadhya Pradesh
2000-2001Bangaru LaxmanTelangana
2001-2002Jana KrishnamurthiTamil Nadu
2002-2004Venkaiah NaiduAndhra Pradesh
2004-2005Lal Krishna AdvaniGujarat
2005-2009Rajnath SinghUttar Pradesh
2009-2013Nitin GadkariMaharashtra
2013-2014Rajnath SinghUttar Pradesh
2014-2020Amit ShahGujarat
2020-IncumbentJagat Prakash NaddaHimachal Pradesh
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Select a Field of Study
Select a Course
Select UPSC Exam
Select IBPS Exam
Select Entrance Exam
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X