Type of College

Deemed University

Accreditation & Recognition





Hemachandracharya North Gujarat University

About Centre for Environmental Planning and Technology University

Centre for Environmental Planning and Technology University, Ahmedabad, commonly known as CEPT University was established in 1962 by the Ahmedabad Education Society (AES)

It was established with the inception of School of Architecture through grant-in-aid from the Government of Gujarat. Therefore the School of Planning (SP) was established in 1972 with financial support from the Government of India (MHRD), the Government of Gujarat and the Ford Foundation.

The other schools, School of Building Science and Technology (SBST) and School of Interior Design (SID) were established in 1982 and 1991 respectively with grant-in-aid from the Government of Gujarat.

It is recognized & approved by All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE), New Delhi & University Grants Commission (UGC) under Section 2(f) of the UGC Act, 1956 in February 2007

Initially, the CEPT has established a separate trust and society in the year 1994 and registered as a Society and Public Charitable Trust.

Since its inception, CEPT operated as an autonomous academic institution free to develop its academic programs and award its own diplomas at the end of various programs of study recognized by the State of Gujarat and the statutory regulatory body for technical courses.

From 2002 to 2005, CEPT was affiliated with the Hemachandracharya North Gujarat University (HNGU), Patan. Consequently, students completing various programs at CEPT were awarded bachelor’s and master’s degrees.

The University is recognized as Scientific and Industrial Research Organization (SIRO) by Department of Scientific and Industrial Research (DSIR).

At present, the University comprises five faculties:

  • Faculty of Architecture was established as the 'School of Architecture' in 1962 - It focuses on design in the private realm.
  • Faculty of Planning focused on planning in the public realm, was established in 1972 as the 'School of Planning'.
  • Faculty of Technology, which concentrates on Engineering and Construction, was established in 1982 as the 'School of Building Science and Technology'.
  • Faculty of Design was established in 1991 as the 'School of Interior Design' - It deals with habitat related interiors, crafts, systems, and products.
  • Faculty of Management was established in 2013 and it focuses on Habitat and Project Management.

Partner Institutes - International Master of Interior Architectural Design Exchange Program

  • Istanbul Technical University (ITU), Turkey
  • Stuttgart Technology University of Applied Sciences (STUAS), Germany
  • Scuola Universitaria Professionale della Svizzera Italiana (SUPSI), Switzerland

At present, CEPT offers degree courses in Bachelors, Masters, and Doctorate levels in various branches of Engineering, Architecture, Management, and Science with various specializations.

  • The University has a vibrant campus life with an applied range of opportunities to fill your free time
  • The University has an impressive and pollution-free campus with panoramic green surroundings, elegant landscaping, and beautiful flower-beds
  • The University has separate individual departments for all subjects with young, dynamic faculty and non-teaching staff and with good results
  • The University has the most eminent Faculty members and they are really well qualified, experienced and truly committed towards enhancement and development of the students
  • The University has well-equipped with modern facilities like library, laboratory, classrooms, computer lab, canteen, seminar halls, common rooms, auditorium, multipurpose halls, playground & hostel etc.
  • A sufficient number of classrooms with varying sizes are made available for the smooth conduct of different classes in the college
  • The University has a library with a good number of books (both text and reference) on various subjects to meet the needs of the students as well as the teachers with reading room facility. Daily Newspapers and selected journals are also regularly subscribed
  • State of the Art Laboratories with sufficient space and all the necessary equipment are made available to various departments
  • The University has taken up the responsibility of imparting necessary, and practical education to the students so that they can reach great heights and attain maximum achievements in their life
  • The University runs a canteen inside the campus where staff and students can have meals and snacks prepared in a hygienic manner and at an affordable cost
  • Internet & Wi-Fi facilities may be availed by the students and teachers as per their needs
  • The University has easy access to every kind of public transport
  • The University also has a hostel with providing all the facilities, security and good atmosphere, best suited for studies of the boys & girls coming from far-off places
  • The University has a large playground with well-equipment for different sports & and also medical facility is available for the students as well as staff
  • State Government and Central Government offers a number of scholarships to the meritorious students and the students belonging to SC / ST / OBC
  • A special complaint cell (Sexual Harassment Cell) has been formed for the female students in the college. Students can directly complain orally or by written application to the head of the cell. Apart from this, Ragging is strictly prohibited on the college campus
  • To sharpen the skill of students and their personality development, various curricular and extra-curricular activities are the regular features of the institution
  • The University also organizes workshops, seminars, and conferences for improving teaching skills and methodology
  • The University consists Women Cell to help female students. This cell helps and guides girls to sort out from their personal problem and avoid them from any harassment
Levels of study
Streams Mode Duration Eligibilty
Bachelor of Architecture (B.Arch.) Full Time 5 Years 10+2
Master of Architecture Full Time 2 Years Graduation
Streams Mode Duration Eligibilty
Doctor of Philosophy in Architecture Full Time 2 / 3 / 4 / 5 Years Master's Degree / M.Phil.
Additional Courses
Bachelor of Urban Design (BUD)
Master of Urban and Regional Planning
Bachelor of Construction Technology
Master of Technology in Construction Engineering & Management
Master of Technology in Structural Engineering Design
Master of Technology in Infrastructure Engineering Design
Master of Technology in Geomatics
Master of Technology in Building Energy Performance
Bachelor of Interior Design
Master of Design
Master of Interior Architecture and Design
Master of Interior Architecture and Design
Master of Design (Furniture Design)
Master of Urban Management

Note: This University offers more courses in various stream categories including with optional specializations. To know more about courses, please visit the official website i.e. http://cept.ac.in

  • Library
  • Sports
  • Hostel
  • Laboratories
  • Internet
  • Auditorium
  • Classroom
  • Placement
  • Scholarship
  • Workshop
  • Wi-Fi
  • Seminar Halls
  • Playground
  • Curricular Activities
  • Multipurpose Hall
  • Medical Facility
  • Common Rooms
  • Computer Lab
  • Cafeteria/Canteen
  • Anti Ragging
  • Women Cell
  • Anti-Sexual Harassment Committee
  • Campus Security(24x7)
  • Public Transportation





Top Colleges Search

Please select a Stream
Please select a State
Find Colleges
Please select a Field of Study
Please select a Course
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X