NEET To Be Held in 8 Languages For 2017-18 Academic Year

The National Eligibility cum Entrance Test (NEET) will be in eight languages including Hindi, English, Assamese, Bengali, Gujarati, Marathi, Tamil and Telugu for the academic session 2017-18.


NEET is conducted for admissions into medical and dental colleges across the country.

Last year, NEET conducted by CBSE was made as a single entrance test mandatory for admissions into medical colleges.

According to the Union Health Ministry, the candidates qualifying NEET will be eligible for all India quota and other quotas under the State governments and institutes irrespective of the medium taken by candidates, subject to other eligibility criteria.

Top 10 Medical Colleges in India

Joint Secretary, Medical Education, A K Singhal said, "The collaborative efforts of Central Health Ministry with the state health ministries have lead to this decision so as to bring parity for the students who have taken the State Board exams."

NEET To Be Held in 8 Languages For 2017-18

NEET has replaced AIPMT and has been made mandatory for admissions in all-India medical/dental colleges which means no other state can conduct its separate medical entrance.

In a recent development, the government of Kerala has decided not to conduct separte entrance test by the state for admissions into medical and other professional courses except engineering. Thereafter, NEET scores will be considered for admissions into to all medical agricultural, AYUSH, veterinary science programmes. Read the complete story here.

For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Select a Field of Study
Select a Course
Select UPSC Exam
Select IBPS Exam
Select Entrance Exam
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X