Cabinet Approves National Recruitment Agency (NRA) To Conduct Common Eligibility Test (CET)

The Union Cabinet chaired by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi has approved to create the National Recruitment Agency (NRA) which will be vested with the authority to conduct the computer-based Common Eligibility Test (CET) for various central government vacancies. The CET is a common entrance test for all non-gazetted posts (comprising Group B and C (non-technical posts) in the central government and public sector banks.


Around 2.5 crore candidates, who take multiple recruitment tests conducted by different recruiting agencies for over 1.25 lakh government jobs, will now appear for a single online exam (CET). The CET score will be valid for a total of 3 years from the date of declaration of results.

Top Government Jobs After Class 12Top Government Jobs After Class 12

What is National Recruitment Agency (NRA)

Narendra Modi tweeted, "The #NationalRecruitmentAgency will prove to be a boon for crores of youngsters. Through the Common Eligibility Test, it will eliminate multiple tests and save precious time as well as resources. This will also be a big boost to transparency."

National Recruiting Agency (NRA) Live Briefing

Prakash Javadekar tweeted, "The Union Cabinet by PM @narendramodi Ji today took a revolutionary decision for the youth of #NewIndia. A 'National Recruitment Agency' for conducting a Common Eligibility Test has been approved. The historic move will benefit nearly 2.5 crore aspirants every year !!"

Union Minister Dr Jitender Singh shared key things about the National Recruitment Agency (NRA).

What is the National Recruitment Agency (NRA)?

  • The National Recruitment Agency (NRA) is a single national exam for all government jobs in the country.
  • It will conduct the Common Eligibility Test (CET) which is considered as Tier-1 in the selection process.
  • The exam is conducted for all non-gazetted posts in central government, Railways and public sector banks.
  • The NRA's CET is a computer-based exam.
  • The CET score is valid for three years.
  • Candidates can attempt NRA's CET multiple times.
  • The NRA will conduct the exams in 12 languages.
  • Candidates who qualify in CET will apply to the respective recruitment agency for Main examination (higher level).

In Union Budget 2020 in February, Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman mentioned about setting up a National Recruitment Agency (NRA) to conduct Common Eligibility Test (CET) for all non-gazetted posts in the government and public sector banks.

Top 10 Institutes In Atal Ranking 2020Top 10 Institutes In Atal Ranking 2020

For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Select a Field of Study
Select a Course
Select UPSC Exam
Select IBPS Exam
Select Entrance Exam
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X