Joint Entrance Screening Test Exam

JEST Selection Procedure

Joint Entrance Screening Test (JEST), is a national-level entrance exam conducted for admission to Ph.D/ Integrated Ph.D Programme in Physics or Theoretical Computer Science or Neuroscience courses across various institutes. Candidates who registered for the JEST 2021 have to appear for the entrance exam to be conducted on Sunday, i.e., 11th April, 2021. 

Candidates who are preparing for PhD programme in Theoretical Computer Science have to focus on areas such as Analytical Reasoning and Deduction, Combinatorics, Data Structures and Algorithms, Discrete Mathematics, Graph Theory and Principles of Programming.

In each of these areas, familiarity with the basics (including the necessary simple mathematics) is assumed. There are questions mainly of two types – requiring short answers as well as detailed problem-solving. 

List of colleges accepting the scores of this exam:

JEST 2021 Participating Institutes 

  • Aryabhatta Research Institute of Observational Sciences (ARIES) 
  • Bose Institute
  • Homi Bhabha National Institute (HBNI)
  • Harish-Chandra Research Institute (HRI) 
  • International centre for theoretical sciences (ICTS) 
  • Indira Gandhi Centre for Atomic Research (IGCAR)
  • Indian Institute of Astrophysics (IIA) 
  • Indian Institute of Science (IISc) 
  • Indian Institute of Science Education and Research (IISER), Bhopal 
  • Indian Institute of Science Education and Research (IISER), Kolkata 
  • Indian Institute of Science Education and Research (IISER), Mohali 
  • Indian Institute of Science Education and Research (IISER), Pune
  • Indian Institute of Science Education and Research (IISER), Thiruvananthapuram
  • Indian Institute of Space Science and Technology (IIST) 
  • The Institute of Mathematical Sciences (IMSc) 
  • Institute of Physics (IOP) 
  • Institute for Plasma Research (IPR) 
  • Inter-University Centre for Astronomy and Astrophysics (IUCAA)
  • Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research (JNCASR) 
  • National Brain Research Centre (NBRC) 
  • National Centre for Radio Astrophysics, TIFR (NCRA-TIFR) 
  • National Institute of Science Education and Research (NISER) 
  • Physical Research Laboratory (PRL) 
  • Raja Ramanna Centre for Advanced Technology (RRCAT) 
  • Raman Research Institute (RRI) 
  • Saha Institute of Nuclear Physics (SINP)
  • Satyendra Nath Bose National Centre for Basic Sciences (SNBNCBS)
  • TIFR Centre for Interdisciplinary Sciences (TIFR-TCIS)
  • Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (TIFR) 
  • UGC-DAE Consortium for Scientific Research (UGC-DAE CSR) 
  • Variable Energy Cyclotron Centre (VECC) 
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X